Bips turns 30! Happy Birthday Gorgeous!!!

7 01 2009

We bring to you birthday girl Bipasha Basu’s life’s journey, some trivia… and an opportunity to wish the sexy star.

Bipasha Basu insists that she wasn’t beautiful as a kid.

“I was never meant to be beautiful. I was a short, dark and round girl. Nobody thought I was pretty at all. Cruel jokes have been made about it, but that was fine.”

Bipasha Basu was Head Girl of her school.“I was always good in school. In Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan in Kolkata, where I spent the better part of my education, I was the Prefect and later, Head Girl.”

 

Bipasha Basu’s greatest regret.“If I hadn’t started modelling at an early age, I would have liked to study. Not having done so will always be a regret.”

 

Bipasha Basu started modeling at the age of 16“I started life a little earlier than most people. I was modelling at the age of 16, doing fashion shows all over the world.”

 

Bipasha Basu’s Ticket to Modelling“I won a few beauty contests. And then the Ford Supermodel of the World in December 1996. After that, modeling contracts in New York and Paris took over my life.”

 

Bipasha Basu’s modeling life best described as ‘glam and gory’!“There was the occasional bit of wild partying, shame and scandal, which seemed all too bewildering for me. There were times when I enjoyed the attention and the lifestyle. At other times I wanted to lock myself in my room and hope the world outside the door would just go away.”

 

Bipasha Basu was bored of modeling.“I had become tired and bored of modelling and was considering going back to college. Or a career move of some sort. I had considered starting a restaurant. That’s when the first movie offer came in.”

 

Bipasha Basu was conscious of her skin colour.“I had always thought of myself as too dark, too different from what is conventionally considered to be movie star material. The colour of my skin was the cause of a lot of comment, but it did help me find my niche.”

 

Bipasha Basu has lived in Delhi and Kolkata.“It has taken me a while to accept Mumbai as my home after living in Delhi and Kolkata.I have my own apartment in a secluded lane in Mumbai. It’s a great place to come home to.”

 

These are a few of Bipasha’s favourite things… Pink
Favourtie Food: Biryani
Favourite Place: Paris

Favourtie Colour:

These are a few of Bipasha’s favourite things… Anything written by Robin Cook, John Grisham… and Bridget Jones’ Diary
Favourite TV Show: Sex in the City
Favourite Films: The Godfather, Indaina Jones Series, Jaane Bhi Do Yaaron

Favourite Books –

These are a few of Bipasha’s favourite things… Brad Pitt, Aamir Khan
Favourite Actress: Katherine Hepburn
Favourite Sportsman: David Beckham

Favourite Actors:

These are a few of Bipasha’s favourite things… Basketball, Soccer, Moto-GP
Favourite Music: Sufi-based Rock, Band: Strings, Singer: Atif Aslam

Favourite Sports:

Bipasha Basu’s Bollywood BeginningsShe came into the limelight with her coffee bean complexion in ‘Ajnabee’ and was called a scorcher for her skin show in ‘Jism’. But Bollywood beauty Bipasha Basu, who turns 30 today, has now moved on from being just a sex icon and is signing on mature roles.

 

Bipasha Basu was voted Sexiest Asian woman in 2007Voted the Sexiest Asian woman in 2007 by the British weekly newspaper Eastern Eye, the starlet of films like ‘Rudraksh’, ‘No Entry’, ‘Omkara’ and ‘Dhoom 2’ is taking steps towards signing on for serious roles.

 

“If I don’t like what’s being offered, I won’t sign anything (any more),” Bipasha had earlier told us in an interview

Bipasha Basu was nominated for the Filmfare Best Actress Award in 2006Her stint with arthouse movie started with Prakash Jha’s 2005 political drama ‘Apaharan’. He presented her in a deglamourised role, but it was Ajay Devgan who had an author-backed role.

 

Bipasha’s first meatier role was in Madhur Bhandarkar’s critically acclaimed 2006 film ‘Corporate’. She proved her mettle and both critics and audiences applauded her performance. She was nominated for the Filmfare Best Actress award.

Bipasha Basu has tried her hands at Bengali cinema too.Last year she did Rituparno Ghosh’s Bengali film ‘Shob Charitro Kalponik’ and is currently doing Sudipto Chattopadhyaya’s ‘Pankh’ and Rahul Dholakia’s ‘Lamhaa’.

 

Despite churning out fewer hits and more misses, the actress, who entered filmdom in 2001, constantly hogged the limelight, thanks to her oomph factor.

Bipasha Basu’s not attracted to Hollywood.“No filmmakers of Hollywood are willing to sign any Bollywood actor without a screen test apart from Aishwarya Rai. They seem to know no Hindi film actors, not even Amitabh Bachchan. I found out that I will have to start again (there) from scratch like screen tests and other tantrums. They treat you like a newcomer. So I’ve decided to stay in Mumbai and be the ‘queen’ here.”

Actions

Information

One response

23 02 2009
BUNTY

B FOR BEAUTY
I FOR INTELLIGENT
P FOR PASSIONATE
A FOR AMAZING
S FOR SEXY
H FOR HAIRDO
A FOR ALROUNDER

Leave a Reply

