I don’t organize awards!:Saif

27 01 2010

Of course, his career hasn’t been a smooth ride in the last three months. There has been a speed-breaker called Kurbaan; but honestly, superstars don’t get shaken by the odd hiccup. And when you see Saif, calm, composed, confident… you realise he is now moving in another space.

Happy about having bagged the fourth highest national honour, the Padma Shri, the 39-year-old actor says, “I’m thrilled. It is a lovely feeling. When I heard the news, I thought it is an honour that should perhaps have been given to someone slightly more senior. However, that was a fleeting thought. Seconds later I was rejoicing. I also think the success of Love Aaj Kal last year has something to do with this honour. Honours are gratifying because I don’t go out of my way to organise awards.’’

He remembers how he felt slightly shortchanged when Filmfare gave him the trophy as Best Actor in a Comic Role for Hum Tum but gave his co-star, Rani Mukherjee, the Best Actress award the same year. “I accepted it because I value Filmfare. It was a bit odd that I was chosen as the Best Comic actor. However, when I received the National Award for the same film, I felt vindicated,’’ he says.

That apart, Saif knows that this certainly is a phase of his life and career that he must celebrate. “Besides thanking the obvious people like my family and loved ones for being with me through it all and in my moment of glory, I must thank a whole load of filmmakers without whom I wouldn’t be in this cushy position,’’ he says. “Be it Yash Chopra, Karan Johar, Aditya Chopra, Imtiaz Ali, Vidhu Vinod Chopra, Farhan Akhtar, Ram Gopal Varma, Vishal Bharadwaj, Sriram Raghavan, Ramesh Taurani, Kunal Kohli or Siddharth Anand, all of these film-makers have contributed to my career.’’

Busting the myth that he is very laid back and doesn’t know where he is headed, the actor says, “That’s the general impression. But believe me, I have the next five years of my career worked out. I know where I want to be at 45 and I know what I wish to be doing when I’m 50 years of age. I live on tenth floor with my office on the second floor and I spend a lot of time with my CA/lawyers working out my investments. I want my children to be comfortable. I want my lady love to be completely and absolutely cared for. For someone who looks like I don’t care a fig about things… I’m sorted in my head.’’

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

